TFS 2015 RTM - System.NotSupportedException - ProjectFeatureProvisioningService.GetFeatures(...)

Aug 18, 2015 at 7:49 PM
Edited Aug 25, 2015 at 12:28 PM
I get this exception
System.NotSupportedException: Specified method is not supported. at Microsoft.TeamFoundation.Integration.Server.CommonStructureService.Microsoft.Tea‌​‌​mFoundation.Framework.Server.ITeamFoundationService.ServiceStart(TeamFoundation‌​Re‌​questContext systemRequestContext)
on this call
ProjectFeatureProvisioningService.GetFeatures(...).
Any idea? Do I need a specific role in the database?
Aug 18, 2015 at 9:38 PM
Hello ...

I'm having the same problem. I can modify the code and make the call ProjectFeatureProvisioningService.GetFeatureState(...) and it works. I do not believe this has to do with db_owner permissions as I am an SQL Server administrator, Server admin and TFS Admin on my test instance.
Sep 3, 2015 at 1:06 PM
I am also seeing this when running Features4TFS on the Brian Keller VM. I am doing this as a POC for a large upgrade from TFS 2013.4 to TFS 2015 RTM. Any idea how soon a fix for this will be available? @DaveWhite, what exactly did you modify?
Sep 3, 2015 at 1:16 PM
Edited Sep 3, 2015 at 1:16 PM
@DaveWhite I tried calling GetFeatureState multiple times for each feature as you said but it always returns null, are you using it on a TFS 2015 RC or TFS 2015 RTM ?
Someone on MSDN told me that Features4TFS is only compatible with TFS 2015 RC for now, it seems that the API changed from TFS 2015 RC to TFS 2015 RTM.
Sep 3, 2015 at 4:32 PM
Actually, based on the following statement from https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/e797a7f6-6fd6-4fb8-a258-e13c78a4b3cf/systemnotsupportedexception-thrown-when-calling-projectfeatureprovisioningservicegetfeatures?forum=tfsprocess it does not look like I need to worry about this as I am upgrading from TFS 2013 Update 4.

"... is applicable to the TFS 2012 team projects which upgraded from TFS 2010 or TFS 2008."